Never Be Boring Again: Make Your Business Presentations Capture Attention, Inspire Action and Produce Results

Reading List 2017

51zr67ayysl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

I’ve read this book before, around 10 years or so, and thought of ‘why not going back to it again, it might help me in my career as an instructor’. Going through the book this time was faster, I think I was skim reading and recalling the things that I have read. Interesting enough, I was using a lot of the things that were mentioned in the book without noticing. So I came up with the conclusion that my subconsciousness was implementing the tools and methods mentioned in the book, those same tools that I have read 10 years ago.

From my humble experience, those methods in the book do make a difference, specially when giving a lecture as it helps the students to relate to the topic, even if not to the particular information, but it would be the triggering key that would help them remember a particular information. Also the method of utilising stories, doesn’t matter if they were complicated or just plain simple, when trying to deliver a message to other people does link to their personal experiences and haps humanise the information rather than robotise it, which itself would make the information more practical and useable.

The book does involve examples of stories used by the author and some other participants who he had helped through his practice. Also the book does give examples and sources for stories that can be used and how you can use them. Furthermore, the author takes you through his personal stories and contextualise them in a way to assist you in the process of contextualising your own stories.

Doesn’t matter if you were a business man, instructor or a doctor etc; I think this book and its context can help you on a personal and a professional levels.

@DougStoryCoach < the author’s Twitter account

Leave a Reply

